Kashmir Shaivism scholars to receive ‘Rajanaka’ for exemplary contributions

1 min read
WhatsApp Image 2024 03 07 at 21.33.48 b5aa9765

SRINAGAR: Ishwar Ashram Trust, Srinagar, and Abhinavagupta Institute of Advanced Studies, Vagamon, Kerala, are pleased to announce the revival of the Classical era practice of conferring the title of “Rajanaka” to honor individuals who have made exemplary contributions in the domain of Trika, popularly known now as Kashmir Shaivism.

This year, the title is being conferred on Dr. Navjivan Rastogi and Dr. Mark Dyczkowski, two outstanding scholars of Kashmir Shaivism who have devoted their lives to the study, research, and dissemination of their understanding of the intricacies of this school of philosophy.

The Vice-President of India, Jagdeep Dhankar, will present the awards on 8th March 2024 at Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. Arif Mohammed Khan, the Governor of Kerala will be the Guest of Honour on the occasion.

Abhinavagupta Institute of Advanced Studies has been recognized as an Indian Knowledge System (IKS) Research Centre under the IKS Division of the Union Ministry of Education. Ishwar Ashram Trust was founded by the “WILL” of the greatest Saint / Scholar and fountainhead of Kashmir Shaivism in the 20th Century, Shaivacharya Swami Lakshman Joo Maharaj. He laid the primary objective of this trust to disseminate knowledge about Kashmir Shaivism to every being in this world.

The revival of the practice of the Rajanak title by the two entities, one in Kashmir and one in Kerala, demonstrates the underlying unity between all objects in this universe- the actual concept of non-dualism.

The title’s recipients will receive a certificate of recognition and a sum of ₹ One Lakh and one. The award will be conferred once every three years, with the venue alternating between Kashmir and Kerala.