COVID-19: India bars entry of France, Germany, Spain nationals

Kolkata: Security personnel and passengers wear masks as preventive against coronavirus, at NSCBI Airport, in Kolkata , Saturday, March 7, 2020. (PTI Photo/Ashok Bhaumik)(PTI07-03-2020_000020B)

New Delhi :Amid the rising cases of coronavirus affliction globally, India barred entry of the nationals of three more countries — France, Germany and Spain —  suspending the regular as well as e-Visas granted to them till date. 

“All regular (sticker) Visas/e-Visas granted to nationals of France, Germany and Spain and issued on or before March 11 and who have not yet entered India stand suspended with immediate effect,” said a Bureau of Immigration notification issued late Tuesday night.

Regular visas, including e visas, granted to all foreign nationals who have travel history to these countries on or after February 1 and who have not yet entered India also stands suspended, it said.

The new notification was issued shortly after Cabinet Secretary Rajiv Gauba on Tuesday held a high-level meeting of secretaries of various ministries and departments, grappling to contain the spread of the deadly Covid-19.

The meeting was held to review the status, actions, preparedness and management of COVID-19 cases in the country, an official statement of Union Health Ministry said after the meeting.

With more than 100 countries across the world now having reported cases of COVID-19, the Union Health Ministry in its advisory also urged its citizens returning from abroad to self-monitor their health and follow the recommended do’s and dont’s.

Subscribe to The Kashmir Monitor

Subscribe to our email newsletter for useful tips and valuable resources, sent out every Tuesday.

Leave a Reply