Help The Kashmir Monitor sustain so that we continue to be editorially independent. Remember, your contributions, however small they may be, matter to us.

Panchayat by-polls: CEO issues notification for Phase-II


Jammu, Feb 17: Chief Electoral Officer, J&K, (Election Authority under J&K Panchayati Raj Rules, 1996) Shailendra Kumar Monday issued notification for the conduct of phase-II of by-elections for Panchayat Polls-2020 in respect of vacant seats to elect Sarpanches and Panches.

The notification has been issued for Shangus and Hiller blocks in District Anantnag, Aloosa block in District Bandipora, Sangrama and Wagoora in Baramulla District, B K Pora, Rathsun and Budgam in district Budgam, Wakura in Ganderbal District, block Kulgam in Kulgam district, Nutnussa, Drugmulla, Magam, Ramhal and Tarthpora in Kupwara District, Awantipora and Kakapora (Partly) in District Pulwama and Chitragam in Shopian District of Kashmir Division.


In Jammu Division, the Panchayati by-elections will be held in Bhagwah, Kastigarh, Thatri, Doda (Ghat), Dali Udanpur, Gundana, Assar, Khellani, Bhaderwah and Bhalla blocks of Doda District, Surankote, Loran, Mandi, Nangali Sahib Sain Baba, Sathra, Lassana and Bufliaz (Partially) in District Poonch, Block Gundi Dharam, Batote, Rajgarh, Sangaldan, Gandhri and Ramban in district Ramban,  Arnas, Thuroo, Jij Bagli, Mahore, Gulabgarh and Chasana in district Reasi, Sewna, Chanunta, Ramnagar, Majalta and Khoon in district Udhampur.

According to the notification, the last date for making nominations is February 24, 2020 (Monday), the date for the scrutiny of nominations is February 25, 2020 (Tuesday), the last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 27, 2020 (Thursday), the date on which a poll, if necessary, shall be from 09 am to 01 pm on March 07, 2020 (Saturday), the date of counting is March 07, 2020 (Saturday) unless notified otherwise, and the date before which the election shall be completed has been fixed as 26 March, 2020  (Thursday).