Powerful journalism on tap - Download The Kashmir Monitor app.

Srinagar girl bags Sahitya Akademi Award

Srinagar June 25: India’s national academy of letters, the Sahitya Akademi, has announced the names of 21 winners of its Bal Sahitya Puraskar and 21 recipients of the Yuva Puraskar for this year.

The Bal Puraskar awards will be conferred at a function on November 14, which is celebrated as Children’s Day, being the birth anniversary of India’s first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru. The date for conferring the Yuva Puraskar awards has not been declared yet.

“The awards were recommended by jury members representing 22 Indian languages, and approved by the Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi which met today under the Chairmanship of Dr.Chandra shekhar Kambar, President, Sahitya Akademi,” a statement said.

The award comprises a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque and a cheque of Rs 50,000 for both types of awards.

Established in 1954 by the Indian government, Sahitya Akademi is India’s premier literary institution, promoting preserving literature in 24 languages.

Valley’s young writer Deeba Nazir has been chosen for the prestigious award for her short story book ‘Zareen Zakhm. She is the first young writer from the Srinagar to have achieved this honour.