Help The Kashmir Monitor sustain so that we continue to be editorially independent. Remember, your contributions, however small they may be, matter to us.

NC protests against unabated civilian killings

Srinagar, May 7: National Conference General Secretary Ali Muhammad Sagar on Monday led a protest march attended by senior party leaders, legislators and functionaries to protest against the unabated civilian killings in the Valley.
The peaceful protest march that was taken out from party headquarters, ‘Nawa-e-Subha’ in Srinagar was addressed by the party leaders outside the Tourist Reception Centre.
Addressing the protest march, NC General Secretary Ali Muhammad Sagar lashed out at the PDP-BJP Government and Chief Minister for supervising wanton bloodshed and killings of civilians in the Valley and said the Chief Minister’s singular obsession with power had brought the State to a dangerous precipice of turmoil and alienation. “The Chief Minister must be held accountable and should answer for her U-turns and her failure to protect civilian lives. Mere rhetorical statements and customary condemnations cannot absolve the Chief Minister or the Government of her role in pushing the youth against the wall,” he said.
The NC General Secretary said the unabated civilian killings in the Valley were a consequence of how the ruling dispensation had failed to offer hope and empathy to the aggrieved people of the Valley. “This Government has offered precious little to the people and will be remembered for its brutality, hypocrisy and brazen sell out. Mehbooba Mufti should take a call of her own conscience and resign from her chair. Her brother and Cabinet Minister Tassaduq Mufti rightly pointed out how PDP and BJP were ‘partners in crime’. She should acknowledge her total and complete failure and step down before the situation deteriorates any further,” Sagar said.
Besides the NC General Secretary, the protest march was addressed by Dr. Mustafa Kamal, Chaudhary Muhammad Ramzan, Peerzada Ahmed Shah, Sharif-ud-din Shariq, Mubarak Gul, Muhammad Akbar Lone, Muhammad Sayeed Akhoon, Sheikh Ishfaq Jabbar, Qaiser Jamsheed Lone, Showkat Ahmed Ganie, Abdul Majeed Larmi, Ali Muhammad Dar, Peer Muhammad Afaq, Dr. Bashir Ahmed Veeri and Javed Ahmed Dar and was also attended by Irfan Ahmed Shah, Imran Nabi Dar, Showkat Ahmed Mir, Manzoor Ahmed Wani, Ghulam Nabi Bhat, Sardar Jagdish Singh Azad, Advocate Nazir Ahmed Malik, Dr. Muhammad Shafi, Haji Abdul Ahad Dar, Mir Ghulam Rasool Naaz, Nisar Ahmed Nisar and various leaders and functionaries of the party’s parent and youth wing.