Help The Kashmir Monitor sustain so that we continue to be editorially independent. Remember, your contributions, however small they may be, matter to us.

LS Polls Phase-I: Over 33 lakh voters to decide fate of 33 candidates in Jammu, Baramulla


JAMMU, APRIL 4:   Over 33 lakh voters will decide the fate of 33 candidates who are in fray for Jammu and Baramulla Parliamentary constituencies which are going to polls on April 11- the first Phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019.
The twin constituencies have 3365037 registered electors including 1716933 males, 1600897 females, 47155 service voters (46652 males and 503 females) and 52 transgender.
In Jammu Parliamentary Constituency (PC), 24 candidates are in fray while in Baramulla PC nine candidates are contesting for the seat.
For the smooth conduct of polls, 4489 polling stations have been set up in the twin constituencies.
Jammu PC
The constituency is spread over 20 Assembly segments of four districts including Jammu, Samba, Poonch and Rajouri with 2047299 electors including 2005734 General voters and 41565 service voters.
Among the general voters, 1040876 are males and 964838 females electors. Among service voters, 41087 are males and 478 females, while there are 20 transgender voters.
For the smooth conduct of election exercise, the authorities have set up 2740 polling stations across the Parliamentary constituency.
The candidates in the fray are Syed Aqib Hussain of Independent Peoples’ Party, Juggal Kishore of BJP, Badrinath of  BSP, Mohammad Younis of JK Peer Panjal Awami Party, Susheel Kumar of Hindustan Nirman Dal, Javaid Ahmed of All India Forward Bloc, Raman Bhalla of INC, Gursagar Singh of Navarang Congress Party,  Prof. Bhim Singh of JK National Panthers Party, Lal Singh of Dogra Swabhiman Sangathan, while Rajiv Chunni, Subhash Chander, Shazbad Shabnam, Perseen Singh, Gulam Mustafa Chowdhary, Satish Poonchi, Bahadur, Manish Sahni, Sakander Ahmad Nourani, Tarsem Lal Khullar, Balwan Singh, Syed Zeshan Haider, Anil Singh, Ajay Kumar are  contesting as Independents.
In 2014 General Elections, the number of voters in the constituency was 1848155 while it has increased to 2047299 in 2019 elections.
In 2014 General Elections, Jugal Kishore of Bhartiya Janata Party had emerged winner by defeating his close rival Madan Lal Sharma of INC. Kishore had bagged 619995 votes while Sharma had polled 362715 votes.
Baramulla PC
In Baramulla Parliamentary constituency, those in fray are Haji Farooq Ahamd Mir of INC, Mohammad Maqbool War of BJP, Jahangir Khan of J&KNPP, Abdul Qayoom Wani of J&KPDP, Mohammad Akbar Lone of J&KNC, Raja Aijaz Ali of INC, while Javid Ahmad Qureshi , Syed Najeeb Shah Naqvi and Engineer Rashid are contesting as independents.
The constituency is spread over across 15 Assembly segments of three districts of north Kashmir including Kupwara, Baramulla and Bandipora.
The Baramulla parliamentary seat has  1317738 electors of which 1312148 are registered as general voters and 5590 as service voters.
Among the General voters, 676057 are males and 636059 females. The service voters include 5565 males and 25 females. The PC has 32 transgender electors.
For the smooth conduct of election in the PC, the Election Commission of India has established 1749 polling stations.
In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the electoral strength of Baramulla PC was 1190766, which has increased to 1317738 in 2019.
The last parliamentary elections were won by Muzaffar Hussain Baig of People’s Democratic Party by defeating his nearest rival Sharief Ud Din Shariq of National Conference by a margin of 29219 votes
In the twin constituencies, polling will be held on April 11, 2019. The voting hours have been fixed from 7:00AM to 6:00PM.