Help The Kashmir Monitor sustain so that we continue to be editorially independent. Remember, your contributions, however small they may be, matter to us.

Twitter war rages on over Rahul’s ‘earthquake in Parl’ remark

Rahul 2

New Delhi:Ahead of the no-confidence motion, moved by Telugu Desam Party (TDP), a war of tweets broke out as the BJP leaders took on Congress president Rahul Gandhi over his earlier ‘earthquake in Parliament’ remark.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged fellow MPs to “rise to the occasion and ensure a constructive, comprehensive and disruption-free debate”.
Terming the day “important”, Prime Minister Modi took to his twitter saying, “Today is an important day in our Parliamentary democracy. I’m sure my fellow MP colleagues will rise to the occasion and ensure constructive, comprehensive and disruption-free debate. We owe this to the people and the makers of our Constitution. India will be watching us closely”.
On the first day of the Monsoon Session of the Parliament, Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan accepted the TDP’s no-confidence motion against the Centre over the Andhra Pradesh special status row.
The Narendra Modi-led government will be facing its first no-confidence motion, four years after winning the 2014 mandate as the first single-party majority in three decades.
The NDA last faced the no-confidence motion under the leadership of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 2003. The Vajpayee-led Government had defeated the motion with an overwhelming majority.
To defeat the no-confidence motion, the BJP would require to gain a mark of 268 votes. The NDA at present counts 312 members in the 535-member Lok Sabha, including 274 of the BJP. ANI