Help The Kashmir Monitor sustain so that we continue to be editorially independent. Remember, your contributions, however small they may be, matter to us.

Sexual harassment of women

New Delhi: Women and children druing a dharna aganist rape incidents at Rajghat in New Delhi on Friday. PTI Photo (PTI4_13_2018_000116B)

Srinagar, July 20: Jammu and Kashmir government on Friday reconstituted the complaint committee on
sexual harassment of women at workplace.
“In partial modification of Government Order 110.372-GAD of 2018 dated 05.03.2018 and in pursuance of
Section 4(1) of the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act,
2013, sanction is hereby accorded to the reconstitution of the Complaint Committee,” said an order, issued
by the General Administration Department.
Sarita Chauhan, IAS, Commissioner/Secretary to the Government, Higher Education Department has been
appointed as the chairperson of the five-member committee.
Besides Kusum Badyal, KAS, Special Secretary to the Government, Housing & Urban Development
Department and Nuzhat Shah, Section Officer, Industries & Commerce, the committee will have a
representative of an NGO to be nominated by the social welfare department and a person co-opted by the
chairperson as two more members.
“The committee will register and enquire into and dispose of the complaints, if any, of sexual harassment
against women employees of the Civil Secretariat,” said the order.
“The committee shall submit to the Government in General in Administration Department its report on each
complaint received by it regarding sexual harassment against women employee(s) of the Secretariat for
consideration of the Government and quarterly/annual reports about the total number of complaints
received, enquired by and action taken on the same.”
“The committee shall meet as often as may be required.”