Help The Kashmir Monitor sustain so that we continue to be editorially independent. Remember, your contributions, however small they may be, matter to us.

RCB demolish KXIP by 10 wickets in do-or-die game, stay alive in tournament


Indore: The match at Holkar stadium in Indore turned out to be a one sided affair as Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Kings XI Punjab by 10 wickets to stay in hunt for the play-off spot. The victory also gives massive boost to RCB’s net run rate.

After a splendid performance by the bowlers during KXIP innings, RCB openers Virat Kohli (48 runs of 28 balls) and Parthiv Patel (40 runs of 22 balls) ensured that the team crossed the finish line without much trouble.


In a match that turned out to be a one-sided contest, KXIP batsmen put up shoddy display of batting to put their play-off chances in danger. KL Rahul and Gayle gave a blazing start to the KXIP innings, but once Umesh Yadav dismissed both the openers in same over, there was no looking back.

Aaron Finch tried to provide some resistance with the bat, but poor shot selection costed Australian his wicket. After Finch’s dismissal, the lower order failed to put up any fight as three batmen ended up being run-out.

In the end it was mere formality for RCB openers as Virat Kohli and Parthiv Patel applied finish touches to the match. The game that was expected to be a thrilling one turned out to be a damp squib.

Royal Challengers Bangalore bowlers put up a splendid show with the ball as Kings XI Punjb were bowled out for just 88 runs in the Indian Premier League match played at Holkar Stadium in Indore on Monday.

KL Rahul (21 runs) and Aaron Finch (26 runs) were the major contributors with the bat as other batsman failed to put their hand up. After opening stand of 36 runs between openers KL Rahul and Chris Gayle, RCB bowlers completely dominated the match.

Wickets kept on falling like pack of cards as other batsmen failed to occupy the crease. Umesh Yadav was the pick of the bowlers for RCHB with figures of 3-23 in 4 overs. Siraj, Chahal, de Grandhomme and Moeen Ali also chipped in with wickets. KXIP skipper R Ashwin, Mohit Sharma and Ankit Rajpoot were the unfortunate batsmen to get run-out.