1 min read

Left sweeps polls :Kulgam youth elected Gen Secy JNUSU

September 17, 2018

New Delhi, Sep 16: The United Left alliance on Sunday won all the four top posts in the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students Union (JNUSU), leaving the ABVP and NSUI way behind.

A young scholar of South Kashmir’s Kulgam district was elected as General Secretary of JNUSU for year 2018-19.

Aejaz Ahmad Rather, of Sopat village in Kulgam, polled 2423 of the total 5185 votes held on Friday.

Rather, a PhD scholar at the varsity’s Centre for Historical Studies (CHS), in School of Social Sciences (SSS), is affiliated with Students Federation of India (SFI), the student wing of Communist Party of India (CPI).

He contested as part of united Left panel that swept the elections winning all the four central panel posts including N Sai Balaji as President, Sarika Chaudary as Vice-President, and Amutha Jaydeep as Joint Secretary.

Rather was elected as councilor in the previous years students union elections and subsequently appointed as the Convenor of his School of Social Sciences.

The JNUSU Election Committee announced that N. Sai Balaji, Sarika Chaudhary, Aejaz Ahmad Rather and Amutha Jayadeep of the Left alliance had been elected to the President, Vice President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary respectively.

Sarika Chaudhary, the Vice President-elect, received the most votes and also maintained the highest margin. With 2,692 votes, she was 1,679 votes ahead of the runner-up, ABVP’s Geeta Sri.

The highest winning margin was for the President’s post, where Balaji breezed towards a comfortable win with 1,189 votes over ABVP’s Lalit Pandey, who trailed him by 972 votes.

Left’s Rather (General Secretary) and Jayadeep (Joint Secretary) got 2,423 and 2,047 votes respectively, defeating ABVP’s Ganesh (1,235 votes) and Venkat Chaubey (1,290 votes).

The United Left is an alliance of the All India Students Association (AISA), Students Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Students Front (DSF) and All India Students Federation (AISF).

The President-elect belongs to AISA, the Vice President is from DSF, the General Secretary’s post went to SFI and Joint Secretary’s post was grabbed by AISF.

The Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students Association (BAPSA) trailed at the third position for the post of President, Vice President and General Secretary. The National Students Union of India (NSUI) was the third runner-up for the post of Joint Secretary.



Discover more from The Kashmir Monitor

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Don't miss a beat! The Kashmir Monitor delivers the latest Kashmir news, sports highlights from every league, political updates, entertainment buzz, and tech innovations happening right now.
Avatar of

A Newspaper company in Kashmir

Leave a Reply