India has 52 sites in UNESCO World Heritage Tentative List

1 min read
site 0233 0003 1000 1333 20151104153144

Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) follows its own guidelines for the conservation of centrally protected monuments as per the National Conservation Policy, 2014. There are 3696 centrally protected monuments/sites under the jurisdiction of Archaeological Survey of India (ASI).  Conservation of monuments/sites is taken up as per the requirement and availability of resources.

Currently, India has 40 Sites in the UNESCO World Heritage List and 52 sites (including 6 added in year 2022) in the UNESCO Tentative List.

Inclusion of any property in Tentative List is a prerequisite condition for onward inclusion in the World Heritage List. Augmentation of Tentative List is continuous process. As per UNESCO Operational Guidelines, 2021, only one property, either cultural or natural, can be nominated for inscription process annually.  Additionally, inclusion of any site requires fulfilment of Criteria, meeting the condition of authenticity and integrity and providing justification of Outstanding Universal Value.

This reply was given by Minister of Culture, Tourism and Development of North-Eastern Region G Kishan Reddy in  Lok Sabha on Monday.

Discover more from The Kashmir Monitor

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading