Help The Kashmir Monitor sustain so that we continue to be editorially independent. Remember, your contributions, however small they may be, matter to us.

Ikhwani-turned-Army man shot dead in Kulgam


Srinagar, Sep 17: Militants shot dead a Territorial Army man at his residence in Shurat area of south Kashmir’s Kulgam district on Monday.

Reports said militants barged into the house of Mukhtar Ahmad Malik of TA 162 Battalion and was shot at from a close range. Malik died on the spot.


Malik, a matriculate has been a known Ikhwani gunman during 1990s. He was operating under the codename of Mukhtar Goula. Later, he was recruited by the army and given a berth in the Territorial Army.

Police said one of Malik’s two sons was killed in a road accident in Kulgam on Friday. Malik had come home to mourn his son’s death.

Malik is survived by another son, who is a student, wife, parents and a brother. His brother is a carpenter.

Police said they have registered a case and investigation will take place.

The militants have been increasingly attacking soldiers and policemen on leave in south Kashmir. On August 22, three policemen, including an officer, were killed in south Kashmir areas when they were home to celebrate Bakr Eid.

On June 14, militants abducted and murdered rifleman Aurangzeb Khan of Rashtriya Rifles when he was going to join his family in Mendhar area of Poonch district to celebrate Eid-ul-Fitr festival.