In a region mired in conflict, it takes all the more courage, and perseverance to be the voice of the voiceless and to separate facts from propaganda. Help The Kashmir Monitor sustain so that we continue to be editorially independent. Remember, your contributions, however small they may be, matter to us.

AAP declares 6 of 7 seats, says no tie-up with Cong

New Delhi: The Delhi AAP convener Gopal Rai on Saturday announced the names of party candidates on six of seven seats in Delhi for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

This announcement comes a day after Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC) president Sheila Dikshit turned down the alliance proposal with Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).


AAP fielded Atishi for East Delhi, Guggan Singh from North West Delhi, Raghav Chadha from South Delhi, Dilip Pandey from North East Delhi, Pankaj Gupta for Chandni Chowk and Brijesh Goyal from New Delhi.

The final seat for West Delhi is yet to be announced.

The six candidates were earlier appointed as in charge on the respective Lok Sabha seats.

During a meeting of ‘Mahagathbandhan’ at NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s residence last month, Congress president Rahul Gandhi had refused a proposal for an alliance between his party and the AAP, citing opposition from its Delhi unit leaders, Rai added.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal in an event last month, had said, ” I am tired of trying to convince Congress for forming an alliance. But they refuse to understand. There should be only one candidate against every BJP candidate, votes must not be divided. If today our alliance with Congress is done, BJP will lose all seven seats in Delhi.”