Help The Kashmir Monitor sustain so that we continue to be editorially independent. Remember, your contributions, however small they may be, matter to us.

23 BJP men resign from party in Kargil

Kargil, July 21: BJP faced a major setback in Kargil on Saturday after 23 of its senior leaders including vice president, spokesperson and general secretary submitted a collective resignation to BJP General Secretary (Organisation) Ashok Kaul at tourist facilitation centre Kargil.

A delegation led by BJP Kargil spokesperson, Subhan Jaffery met with Kaul and submitted their resignations. The development comes a year before elections for Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC).

“Three months ago, we informed the Party leadership in Kargil and the members of the state BJP about our resentment on some serious matters in the party. But the party has totally ignored us and we have been compelled to take collectively resign from our positions and the basic membership of the party,” reads the resignation letter.

Accusing the BJYM leader Mohd Hassan pasha, the resignation letter reads: “Our resentment with the party was basically with the indiscipline shown by Mohammad Hassan Pasha (BJYM member) who has been given free hand to work and take decisions in BJP Kargil. He has done so many activities and also taken some important decisions on the behest of BJP by neglecting other senior members. In this regard you are always behind him to support (sic).”

During the press conference, Subhan Jaffery said that they had tried enough to unite the party by taking up the issue senior BJP leaders including Sat Sharma, Ashok Kaul and other state level members.

Among those who have resigned from the party are Tsewang Dorjey (District Vice president BJP Kargil), Mohd Subhan Jaffery (BJP Kargil Spokesperson), Zakir Ali Zakiri (BJP Kargil Gen. Sec), Mohammad Ali ( BJP Kargil Cashier), Abdul Hani (Distt. Kisan Morcha President), Tsewang Tundup (Block President Batalik Darchik), Mohd Abass Skambo (Secretary, BJP Kargil), Mohd Salman (BJP Kargil, Senior member)., Ghulam Mohd Kaksar (BJP Kargil, Senior member).