Help The Kashmir Monitor sustain so that we continue to be editorially independent. Remember, your contributions, however small they may be, matter to us.

19 Sgr epicentres: All non-essential activity suspended within 3 km radius

shut scaled
A cop guards a barricaded entry point to Srinagar's Chattabal. It was declared a 'Red Zone' after multiple cases of coronavirus were reported from the area (File Photo: KM/Umar Ganie)

Srinagar: Given that Kashmir is witnessing a daily spike in the number of coronavirus cases, the administration in Srinagar Wednesday came up with another order banning all non-essential activities in the areas declared containment zones in the summer capital.

An order passed by DC Srinagar Dr Shahid Chowdhary, who is also Chairman District Disaster Management Authority, said all the non-essential activities “shall remain suspended in the containment zones till further orders.”


It said that the area falling within three kilometres from epicentre will be taken as containment zone.

“The violation of this order will attract action as warranted under law,” the order read.

It listed the 19 epicentres of the containment zones in Srinagar.

They include: Ahmad Nagar, Nowshehra, Lal Bazar, Hawal, Eidgah, Goripora, Watal Kadal, Chattabal, Khayam, Bemina Iqbal Abad/Bakshi Abad, Bemina Housing Colony Sector ‘C’, Bemina MIG Colony, Bemina Mansoor Colony/Boatman Colony, Tengpora Batamaloo, Hyderpora, Lasjan Soiteng, Natipora, Jawahar Nagar, Brein Nishat.