Connect with us

Latest News Archives

Lok Sabha elections: 97 seats go to polls tomorrow






Voting for the second phase will begin on Thursday across 97 Lok Sabha constituencies spread over 12 states and one union territory.

The polling dates for the general elections are April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Here’s all you need to know about the second phase of the ongoing elections:


States and union territories going to polls on April 18:

Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal

Here’s how you can check your name in the voter list

State-wise break-up:

Assam: Main parties: BJP, Congress and All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)

Constituencies: Karimganj, Silchar, Autonomous District, Mangaldoi, Nowgong

No. of candidates: 50

Bihar: Main parties: BJP+Janata Dal (United) alliance, Congress and Rashtriya Janata Dal alliance

Constituencies: 5 constituencies. Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur, Banka

No. of candidates: 68

Chhattisgarh: Main parties: BJP, Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)

Constituencies: 3 constituencies. Rajnandgaon, Mahasamund, Kanker

Jammu and Kashmir: Main parties: Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Congress and Jammu & Kashmir National Conference (JKNC) alliance; and Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party (JKNPP)

No. of candidates: 36

Constituencies: 2 constituencies. Srinagar, Udhampur

No. of candidates: 24

Karnataka: Main parties: BJP, Congress, Janata Dal (Secular), Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Constituencies: 14 constituencies. Udupi Chikmagalur, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Chitradurga, Tumkur, Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Chikkballapur, Kolar

No. of candidates: 241

Maharashtra: Main parties: BJP and Shiv Sena (SS); Congress and National Congress Party (NCP)

Constituencies: 10 constituencies. Buldhana, Akola, Amravati, Hingoli, Nanded, Parbhani, Beed, Osmanabad, Latur, Solapur

No. of candidates: 179

Manipur: Main parties: BJP, Congress and Naga People’s Front (NPF)

Constituencies: 1 constituency. Inner Manipur

No. of candidates: 11

Odisha: Main parties: BJP, Congress and Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

Constituencies: 5 constituencies. Bargarh, Bolangir, Sundargarh, Aska, Kandhamal

No. of candidates: 35

Puducherry: Main parties: Congress, AINRC, MNM, Puducherry Development Party, Namm Tamilar Katchi, Thamizhaga Vaazhvurumai Katchi

Constituencies: 1 constituency. Puducherry

No. of candidates: 18

Tamil Nadu: Main parties: BJP-AIADMK alliance, Congress-DMK alliance

Constituencies: 39 constituencies. Thiruvallur, Chennai South, Chennai North, Chennai Central, Sriperumbudur, Kancheepuram, Arakkonam, Vellore, Krishnagiri, Dharmapuri, Tiruvannamalai, Arani, Viluppuram, Kallakurichi, Salem, Namakkal, Erode, Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Coimbatore, Pollachi, Dindigul, Karur, Tiruchirappalli, Perambalur, Cuddalore, Chidambaram, Mayiladuthurai, Nagapattinam, Thanjavur, Sivaganga, Madurai, Theni, Virudhunagar, Ramanathapuram, Thoothukkudi, Tenkasi, Tirunelveli, Kanniyakumari

No. of candidates: 845

Tripura: Main parties: BJP, Congress, Communist Party of India (Marxist) CPM and All India Trinamool Congress (TMC)

Constituencies: 1 constituency. Tripura East

No. of candidates: 10

Uttar Pradesh: Main parties: BJP, Congress and alliance of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Samajwadi Party (SP) and Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD)

Constituencies: 8 constituencies. Nagina, Amroha, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Hathras, Mathura, Agra, Fatehpur Sikri,

No. of candidates: 85

West Bengal: Main parties: BJP, Congress, All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) and Left (CPM, RSP, AIFB)

Constituencies: 3 constituencies. Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling, Raiganj

No. of candidates: 42


Latest News Archives

Crime Branch questions former PDP minister Naeem Akhtar

Press Trust of India



Srinagar: The Jammu and Kashmir Crime Branch has questioned PDP leader Naeem Akhtar over alleged irregularities committed during his tenure as public works minister in allotment of contracts for the Jammu and Kashmir Projects Construction Corporation (JKPCC), officials said on Sunday.

The former minister has, however, denied any wrongdoing and said he has cooperated with police officials.

“I am sure that truth will prevail. I have done nothing wrong and all due processes were followed,” Akhtar told PTI in Srinagar.


The officials said Akhtar was questioned at his residence about giving out work at JKPCC to a specific set of contractors and making some appointments without following the due process.

The questioning revolved around JKPCC work, construction work at the Islamic University in south Kashmir and allotment of work for setting up the AIIMS in south Kashmir, they said.

It is alleged that the contracts were given to such people who had no experience in construction work and had floated companies barely a few days before the tendering process was initiated, the officials said.

The investigation was also into the air-conditioning work of the health department, they said.

“I have answered all the questions and clarified the matter. I am sure that the matter is sorted out. I have full faith in judiciary,” PDP leader Akhtar.

Continue Reading

Latest News Archives

Former Delhi Chief Minister and Congress leader Sheila Dikshit dies at 81




NEW DELHI: Former Delhi Chief Minister and veteran Congress leader Sheila Dikshit died at the age of 81 on Saturday. The veteran Congress leader was not keeping well from some time and died of a prolonged illness.

Former Delhi chief minister was on Friday admitted to Fortis Escorts Heart Institute in a critical state.

Three-time Delhi chief minister from Congress, Dikshit had cardiac arrhythmia (irregular heartbeat) and had to be immediately put on the ventilator, said Congress sources.

Continue Reading

Latest News Archives

Centre appoints new Governors in 6 states, Anandiben Patel transferred to UP




New Delhi: The Centre Saturday appointed six new Governors in the states of  Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar, Nagaland and Tripura.

MP Governor and former Chief Minister of Gujarat Anandiben Patel has been transferred as appointed the new as Governor of UP. Bihar Governor Lalji Tandon was also transferred and appointed as the Governor of Madhya Pradesh.

Senior Supreme Court advocate Jagdeep Dhankhar was appointed as the new Governor of West Bengal, replacing Keshari Nath Tripathi. BJP member Ramesh Bais has been appointed as the Governor of Tripura, replacing Kaptan Singh Solanki.


BJP MLA Phagu Chauhan has been appointed as the Governor of Bihar while RN Ravi as Governor of Nagaland, replacing Padmanabha Acharya.

“The above appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices,” said a communique from the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Continue Reading

Subscribe to The Kashmir Monitor via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to The Kashmir Monitor and receive notifications of new stories by email.

Join 1,011,288 other subscribers



July 2019
« Jun