1 min read

Anantnag-Rajouri PC: Mian Altaf leads, Mehbooba trails

June 4, 2024
Screenshot 2024 06 04 120330

SRINAGAR, June 4: Early trends from Anantnag-Rajouri constituency indicate that the National Conference leader Mian Altaf Ahmad is leading with 30513 votes.
According to the most exit polls on the national media, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) chief Mehbooba Mufti is likely to be defeated in the Anantnag-Rajouri seat by National Conference candidate Mian Altaf Ahmad.

Anantnag-Rajouri, one of the three crucial seats in the Kashmir Valley along with Srinagar and Baramulla, has become a focal point in the first election after the abrogation of Article 370 and redrawing of its political map.

The counting of votes for the Srinagar, Baramulla and Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seats in J-K’s Kashmir region began on Tuesday amid tight security.

There are 66 candidates in the fray, including PDP president Mehbooba Mufti, National Conference vice president Omar Abdullah, separatist-turned-mainstream politician Sajad Gani Lone, and former MLA Sheikh Abdul Rashid alias Engineer Rashid, who is currently lodged in Tihar jail in a UAPA case.

The counting of votes for the Srinagar seat is taking place at the SKICC here, for the Baramulla seat at the Government Degree College (Boys), Baramulla, and for the Anantnag-Rajouri seat at the Government Degree College (Boys), Anantnag, and Government PG College, Rajouri.
J&K Election result update:

1: Jammu: BJP leading with 13029 votes.
2: Anantnag-Rajouri: JKNC Leading with 30513 votes.
3: Baramulla: Er Rashid leading with 3857 votes.
4: Srinagar: JKNC leading with 5157 votes.
5: Udhampur: BJP leading with 5244 votes.
(ECI data)

Discover more from The Kashmir Monitor

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Don't miss a beat! The Kashmir Monitor delivers the latest Kashmir news, sports highlights from every league, political updates, entertainment buzz, and tech innovations happening right now.
Avatar of

A Newspaper company in Kashmir

Leave a Reply